top of page
  • Md Bubba

Get to know the artist... Umi Zaty


Umi was born into artistic nobility, her father – an established artist – was her mentor the moment she started showing interest in the world of creative arts. By the age of ten, she was already exhibiting her artworks, when she was fifteen years old, Umi’s artworks was showcased at a local art exhibition exhibition organized by UNESCO. Her creative prowess extends musically as well, she sings, plays the guitar and has performed in musicals. To this day, Umi has been actively joining exhibitions producing artworks, most recently being the ‘Asian Students and Young Artist Art Festival’.


We catch-up with the artist to give our audience a retrospective of what Umi has been up to and how has she developed as an artist.


“I ‘m currently in my final year studying Art major in UBD but also recently just started my own art company named Umi Zaty Arts Studio in Sg.Akar Sentral, which once in awhile has an open booth in other locations in Brunei. At the same time I am active in online business doing art commissions.


In art personally I am still in the phase where I am experimenting and venturing different types of arts such as photography, videography, music, fine arts and digital arts at the same time trying different techniques for it. The art style that I usually apply is having painted lines on my painting.


The art practice that I am usually known for is creating bright coloured lines using palette knife as well as making texture to the painting out of it.



We at Creative Space are honoured to have her again as an artist on the EMERGE project and with EMERGE 4: SYNESTHESIA opening September 10th, we chat with the artist herself to share with us her thoughts on the upcoming exhibition and its unique theme.


“I think this theme allows freedom of expression because from how I interpret the meaning of Synesthesia, it's basically doing something unplanned and a kind of involuntary action. Maybe like doing something that you do on the spot and you just go with the flow in however it feels right. Any kind of music can inspire me, but different music, different inspiration.


I feel my artwork relate through the theme by how I just experiment with the techniques and colours. It is a different kind of art practice than how I would usually produce an art piece. I did it in a manner of not knowing how the outcome of the artwork would be as I didn't plan out how I wanted it to look like.”




EMERGE 4: SYNESTHESIA opens Sunday 10th of September 2017 to 8th of October 2017, and the public are invited, with headphones/ earphones in hand to immerse themselves in the world of synesthesia. We have invited artists to showcase artworks that explore the unique world of synesthesia by combining audio and visual together to create a unique gallery experience.


The exhibition allows local talents to practice their creative prowess combining their aural and visual senses to translate to the audience a unique sensation that some may be or may not be familiar with, allowing a better understanding of synesthesia. Selected audio material ranging from ambient sounds, musical scores to pieces of scripture give the artists a source of inspiration behind each and every artwork.


Subscribe with us to get updates on upcoming exhibitions and the next 'Getting to know the artist..'. segment. Feel free to leave a comment below on your understanding of synesthesia or your art experiences.

97 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page