top of page
  • Md Bubba

Get to know the artist... Ibrahim


Ibrahim is a young artist who has found a new love for arts. He actively creates artworks for his clients to continue his practice and wishes to further his studies in the fields of art. He was awarded with the Year 13 Academic Award Art & Design at his school and has exhibited his artwork at the Jerudong International School Sixth Form Art Exhibition.


We at Creative Space Art Gallery & Studio are thrilled to have Ibrahim join us for our upcoming exhibition: EMERGE4: SYNESTHESIA, which opens on Sunday, the 10th of September. Ibrahim shares with us his adventure to being an artist and what is it about his practice that’s unique.


“I've always been into doing anything creative, I'm into almost any form of media which include photography, videography, (cinematography), filmmaking, painting/sketching, graphic design and basically fine art. I tend to explore a lot around this and have a strong passion for it. As for art specifically, I've explored and experimented in a lot, such as sculpture work, paint (acrylic/oil), sketching, pastel (soft/oil), graphic, videos, mixed media and a lot more.


One style I developed which I never did before was the abstract work/style and that's something I think makes my practice unique. I want a larger audience to enjoy/appreciate my work and try to understand what I do in my art and why I do it.”




EMERGE is an initiative by Creative Space Art Gallery & Studio to provide a platform for local emerging artist to showcase their artworks to the public. The EMERGE exhibition is a recording of the creative talents the nation has to offer, providing an awareness locally and internationally. The aims of the EMERGE project includes transforming artist’s creative endeavors into a sustainable activity and to contribute to the development of the Sultanate’s contemporary art scene.


Ibrahim will be one of the youngest participants in the EMERGE project and we asked for his thoughts on the theme of the upcoming exhibition, ‘Synesthesia’ and his approach to creating the artwork for the exhibition.


“Personally, the theme of Synesthesia was not something I'd picture myself participating in especially since I do not have Synesthesia. However, that's what made it appeal to me as it becomes a creative challenge I'd love to experience. For someone who does not have Synesthesia, my art work that I'll be showcasing is based on what I feel and visualize when listening to the particular songs/music and how it never fails to place me in this mood and atmosphere. It's not really easy to describe the feeling but it's definitely a mixture of calmness, peace, nostalgia and melancholy.


My common art work is rarely based on the idea or theme of Synesthesia but for this exhibition as well as challenging myself I thought it would be interesting for me to express what I visualize and feel onto the wood (as my canvas) when listening to the particular music that inspires me and speak out to me the most. So far, my piece is strongly focused on sceneries, memories, objects and colors.”



EMERGE 4: SYNESTHESIA opens Sunday 10th of September 2017 to 8th of October 2017, and the public are invited to immerse themselves in the world of synesthesia by enhancing their gallery experience with audio material accompanying the respective artworks.


Subscribe with us to get updates on upcoming exhibitions and the next 'Getting to know the artist..'. segment. Feel free to leave a comment below on your understanding of synesthesia or your art experiences.

95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page