top of page
  • Md Bubba

Get to know the artist... Cristina Nance


Cristina Nance is a self-taught artist who works primarily with acrylic, watercolour and line drawing. She has been creating artworks for the past four years, practicing new styles and concepts for commission work. Her artworks have been showcased in various local exhibitions, namely; Fortyfive Past Seven by Creative Core BN, Dreams & Perceptions by Kaleidoscope Studios and Malay Folktales by Heartwrite.


We at Creative Space Art Gallery & Studio are excited to have Cristina join us as an artist to our upcoming exhibition: EMERGE4: SYNESTHESIA, which runs from the 10th of September, 2017 to 8th October, 2017. She shares with us her her process in creating her unique artworks and why she continues to create pieces of art.


“I definitely put a lot of planning into my painting. I often begin by writing out of my ideas - theme, colours I'll use, tone I want to convey. Spontaneity is different for me - foreign and exciting but not my usual way of working. I begin any work by first thinking about the overall MOOD of the work before planning anything else. I mix mediums quite freely and a lot of my pieces have T-pex in them!


I hope to contribute to the local art scene by planting my style of work in amongst the growing number of unique styles already present. I want more people to share in what I enjoy doing and depicting and for maybe just a few more people could walk away with my pictures in their minds. I enjoy sharing my work and encouraging a ponder or a discussion.”



EMERGE is an initiative by Creative Space Art Gallery & Studio to develop the contemporary art scene in Brunei by facilitating local emerging artist to showcase their artworks to the public. The EMERGE exhibition aims to promote local artists, providing home-grown talents an opportunity to gain presence and marketability both in the country and internationally. It is part of the gallery’s on-going project to educate, discover and promote local talents.


Cristina shares with us her thoughts on the EMERGE 4 theme, ‘SYNESTHESIA’, and how her artworks featured in the upcoming exhibition translates the rare phenomenon to the audience.


“E4 desires an instinctual and visceral expression from the artists, and challenges us to work from a more subconscious level. It was an interesting and invigorating experience to begin with only a sound. I approached E4’s Synesthesia theme by first considering which sounds have previously elicited strong thoughts or reactions from me.


The pieces are all of identical size and shape as I wanted an effect of them being equal bite sized samples of sound. I thought it important that each sound be given equal opportunity to present itself, in contrast to reality where sounds stretch over the plains of one another and overlap each other, making some smaller and others monumental.”



EMERGE 4: SYNESTHESIA runs from the 10th of September, 2017 to 8th of October, 2017. The public are invited to visit Creative Space Art Gallery & Studio, 10.00 a.m to 4.00 p.m, everyday except Mondays and Fridays.



EMERGE is an initiative by Creative Space Art Gallery & Studio to provide a platform for local emerging artist to showcase their artworks to the public The aims of the EMERGE project includes transforming artist’s creative endeavors into a sustainable activity and to contribute to the development of the Sultanate’s contemporary art scene.


Subscribe with us to get updates on upcoming exhibitions and the next 'Getting to know the artist..'. segment. Feel free to leave a comment below on your understanding of synesthesia or your art experiences.

83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page